21 — 31 OCT
2021

Monologfestival

Two curators initiate ten new solo theater productions for every edition. These productions are all conceptualized specifically for the festival, connected by a common political theme. The focus lies on societal change and the agency of individuals within groups. Extraordinary premieres emerge, by renowned theater makers and collectives as well as newcomers. The co-production festival continually explores monological positioning in a polyphony of artistic disciplines and styles.

Festival Direction

Janette Mickan and Michael Müller are curating Monologfestival together for the third time in a row. They have a long history of collaboration in theater projects, beginning with their research for the piece “Verschwörer – wie wirklich ist die Wirklichkeit” in 2013. After this initial project, they realized many pieces of the theater group LUNATIKS in places like Berlin, Kiel, Hamburg, Seoul and Brandenburg an der Havel. The first edition of the festival under their lead in 2016 (AUS LIEBE ZUR WELT: Die Umordnung der Dinge) questioned the flexibility and meaning of existing rules and the possibility of their reinterpretation from a subjective point of view. It addressed the wish to change the status quo structurally. The potential for societal change lies in the positioning of individuals.

Becoming Us

We want to challenge the antiquated reputation of the genre of the monologue. Particularly since one could say that monological speaking is gradually replacing the dialogue in our contemporary media world.

In light of the red alert (ALARMSTUFE ROT) discussed at the festival in 2019 it seems even more pressing to ask the question of how speaking and positioning of an individual can be a starting point for communal campaigns to change the status quo. Instead of its manifestation in serial, unconnected sermons, we are interested in the political dimension of the monologue, its power to shake principles and to, on behalf of the community, throw into the world what has been unspoken or unthought and thus to open up new spaces in thinking for everyone. In this sense, in the midst of catastrophic global crises and economic and social injustice, we want to fire up the engine for fantasies that could be the precursors of future realities with FANTASTIC TIMES: A Becoming.A Could.A Different. Hereby also opening up new perspectives for us on the here and now.

Credits

Artistic Direction Janette Mickan / Michael Müller Stage Hendrik Scheel Production Direction Imma Scarpato Graphics Christiane Patić / Christin Striegler Technical Stephan Mäusel / David Ojala / Nicolas San Martin Mohr i.a. Press/Publicity Kerstin Böttcher Social Media/Publicity Sarah Reva Mohr Stage Photo Art Claudia Pasanisi / Peppe Tortora Stage Assistant Edgar Schlueter Production Assistant Kim Walz Documentation / Streaming Christopher Hewitt / Florian Brossmann Website Kulturinventur Thanks to the whole TD team Co-Production TD Berlin Cooperation Prater Digital Supported by Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa Media Partner taz - die Tageszeitung / Theater der Zeit

Origins

Its first edition was conceived and realized within three months at TD Berlin back in 2007. Just like this year, we were curious about what happens when different solo pieces are staged back-to-back. And because everybody loved it so much, we’ve hosted the festival every year since - building new and unexpected bridges from the I to the We! Brand new theater pieces, communal picnics and concerts all take place in a room exclusively designed for the festival.

The idea of Monologfestival was developed by Heike Pelchen and Michael Müller, who realized the first three editions together. Since 2016, Janette Mickan and Michael Müller have been curating and constantly rethinking the festival.

Impressions

©2021
Monologfestival GbR
am TD Berlin,
Klosterstraße 44
MONOLOG
FESTIVAL
21 — 31 OKT
2021
Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa
taz
Theater der Zeit
Ask Helmut
Prater Digital

21 — 31 OKT
2021

Monologfestival

Zwei Kurator*innen initiieren zu jeder Ausgabe zehn neue Solo-Theaterproduktionen. Diese werden extra für das Festival und zu einem je gemeinsamen politischen Thema neu entwickelt. Der Fokus liegt auf gesellschaftlichem Wandel und der Frage nach Handlungsspielräumen von Einzelnen im Verhältnis zu Anderen. Es entstehen außergewöhnliche Uraufführungen namhafter Theatermacher*innen und Kollektive aber auch von Newcomer*innen. Das Koproduktions-Festival lotet in einer Vielstimmigkeit künstlerischer Handschriften und Disziplinen das Potenzial der monologischen Positionierung immer wieder neu aus.

Festivalleitung

Janette Mickan und Michael Müller kuratieren das Monologfestival bereits in der dritten Ausgabe gemeinsam. Sie sind durch langjährige Zusammenarbeit in Theaterprojekten verbunden, beginnend mit einer Recherche zum Stück „Verschwörer – Wie wirklich ist die Wirklichkeit“ in 2013. In der Folge realisierten sie zusammen zahlreiche Stückentwicklungen der Theatergruppe LUNATIKS u.a. in Berlin, Kiel, Hamburg, Seoul und Brandenburg an der Havel. Die erste Festivalausgabe unter ihrer Leitung in 2016 unter dem Titel AUS LIEBE ZUR WELT: Die Umordnung der Dinge fragte nach der Veränderbarkeit und Sinnhaftigkeit bestehender Regelwerke und der Möglichkeit ihrer Umdeutung von einem subjektiven Standpunkt aus. Es adressierte den Wunsch, die bestehenden Ordnungsverhältnisse neu zu strukturieren. In der Positionierung Einzelner steckt das Potential für gesellschaftlichen Wandel.

Vom Ich zum Wir

Die Gattung Monolog hat ein zu Unrecht verstaubtes Image, dem wir mit diesem Festival entgegenwirken möchten. Zumal man zugespitzt sagen könnte, dass in der zeitgenössischen medialen Welt das monologische Sprechen den Dialog nach und nach ablöst.

Angesichts der mit dem Festival 2019 verhandelten ALARMSTUFE ROT für die Welt erscheint es uns umso wichtiger, immer wieder neu die Frage zu stellen, wie Sprechen und Positionierung eines*r Einzelnen Ausgangspunkt sein kann für neue gemeinsame Feldzüge zur Veränderung des Status Quo. Statt seiner Erscheinungsform in seriellen unverbundenen Selbstgesprächen schätzen wir am Monolog seine politische Dimension, seine Kraft, Grundsätze zu erschüttern, stellvertretend für die Gemeinschaft bisher Ungesagtes oder Ungedachtes in die Welt zu werfen und so im Denken für alle neue Räume zu eröffnen. In diesem Sinne wollen wir mit FANTASTISCHE ZEITEN: Werden.Könnte.Anders. mitten in Zeiten katastrophaler globaler Krisen und ökonomischer wie sozialer Ungerechtigkeit den Motor anschmeißen für Fantasien, die Vorstufen zukünftiger Realitäten sein könnten. Und die uns damit auch einen neuen Blick auf das Hier und Jetzt eröffnen.

Credits

Künstlerische Leitung Janette Mickan / Michael Müller Bühne Hendrik Scheel Produktionsleitung Imma Scarpato Produktionsassistenz Kim Walz Grafik Christiane Patić / Christin Striegler Technik Stephan Mäusel / David Ojala / Nicolas San Martin Mohr u.a. Presse/ÖA Kerstin Böttcher Social Media/ÖA Sarah Reva Mohr Fotokunst Bühne Claudia Pasanisi / Peppe Tortora Bühnenassistenz Edgar Schlueter Dokumentation / Streaming Christopher Hewitt / Florian Brossmann Webseite Kulturinventur Dank an Team des TD Berlin Koproduktion TD Berlin Kooperation Prater Digital Gefördert durch Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa Medienpartner taz - die Tageszeitung / Theater der Zeit / Ask Helmut

Ursprung

In nur drei Monaten wurde das MONOLOGFESTIVAL 2007 am TD Berlin erfunden und das erste Mal umgesetzt. Wir waren schon damals sehr neugierig, was passiert, wenn unterschiedliche Solos in dichter Abfolge auf die Bühne kommen. Und weil alle so begeistert waren, findet das Festival seitdem immer wieder statt und schlägt jedes Mal aufs Neue unerwartete Brücken vom Ich zum Wir! Brandneue Theaterabende, gemeinsame Picnics, und Konzerte finden in einem jeweils extra für das Festival entworfenen Raum statt.

Die Idee des Monologfestivals wurde von Heike Pelchen und Michael Müller entwickelt, die gemeinsam die ersten drei Ausgaben realisierten. Seit 2016 wird das Monologfestival von Janette Mickan und Michael Müller kuratiert und immer wieder neu gedacht.

Impressionen

©2021
Monologfestival GbR
am TD Berlin,
Klosterstraße 44
MONOLOG
FESTIVAL
21 — 31 OKT
2021
Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa
taz
Theater der Zeit
Ask Helmut
Prater Digital